Triadvocates Navigator Special Edition: Arizona General Election

November 07,2018 | TRIADVOCATES

November 6, 2018

Arizona General Election Results

Federal, State & Local Races

Roughly 1,391,108 Arizona voters cast ballots in the 2018 general election—a record-breaking midterm voter turnout (based on ballots counted as of 11:45 p.m.).


With many more votes still to be counted, we know current numbers will change. Republicans are likely to retain two key seats in the Arizona State Senate (LD6 and LD28), however, there is a small possibility that could change over the next week as remaining votes are tallied. While we can likely expect a 17-13 split in the Senate, there is still a mathematical possibility that Democrats could pick up enough seats to create a 15-15 split. Technically, there is also a chance for an even split in the Arizona House of Representatives, but it's much more likely that the Republicans will hang on to the majority by one or two votes.


Based on results as of tonight, the possible ratios between Republicans and Democrats in each chamber are as follows:


Below are key highlights from the election (results as of 11:45 p.m.). Triadvocates will publish outcomes of the Arizona House and Senate leadership races in a special edition of the Navigator later this week.

*Winner (called or projected as of 11:45 p.m.) is identified in blue.

U.S. Senate: Kyrsten Sinema (D) v. Martha McSally (R)​ — TOO CLOSE TO CALL


Congressional District 1: Tom O'Halleran (D) v. Wendy Rogers (R)​


Congressional District 2: Ann Kirkpatrick (D) v. Lea Marquez Peterson (R)


Congressional District 8: Debbie Lesko (R) v. Hiral Tipirneni (D)


Congressional District 9: Greg Stanton (D) v. Stephen Ferrara (R)

Governor: Doug Ducey (R) v. David Garcia (D)


Secretary of State: Katie Hobbs (D) v. Steve Gaynor (R)


Attorney General: Mark Brnovich (R) v. January Contreras (D)


Superintendent of Public Instruction: Kathy Hoffman (D) v. Frank Riggs (R) — TOO CLOSE TO CALL


Treasurer: Kimberly Yee (R) v. Mark Manoil (D)


State Mine Inspector: Joe Hart (R) v. Bill Pierce (D)


Corporation Commission: Justin Olson (R) v. Rodney Glassman (R) v. Sandra Kennedy (D) v. Kiana Sears (D)

Legislative District 6 (Senate): Sylvia Allen (R) v. Wade Carlisle (D)


Legislative District 6 (House): Walt Blackman (R) v. Felicia French (D) v. Bob Thorpe (R) v. Bobby Tyler (D) — TOO CLOSE TO CALL (Blackman v. French v. Thorpe)


Legislative District 8 (Senate): Frank Pratt (R) v. Sharon Girard (D)


Legislative District 10 (House): Kirsten Engel (D) v. Domingo DeGrazia (D) v. Todd Clodfelter (R) 


Legislative District 17 (House): Jeff Weninger (R) v. Nora Ellen (R) v. Jennifer Pawlik (D)


Legislative District 17 (Senate): J.D. Mesnard (R) v. Steve Weichert (D)


Legislative District 18 (House): Mitzi Epstein (D) v. Jennifer Jermaine (D) v. Jill Norgaard (R) v. Greg Patterson (R)


Legislative District 18 (Senate): Sean Bowie (D) v. Frank Schmuck (R)


Legislative District 20 (House): Anthony Kern (R) v. Shawnna Bolick (R) v. Hazel Chandler (D) v. Christopher Gilfillan (D)


Legislative District 21 (Senate): Rick Gray (R) v. Kathy Knecht (I)


Legislative District 28 (House): Kelli Butler (D) v. Aaron Lieberman (D) v. Maria Syms (R)


Legislative District 28 (Senate): Kate Brophy McGee (R) v. Christine Marsh (D)

Prop. 125: PASSED with 52% of the vote.

Allows for adjustments to the Elected Officials’ Retirement Plan (EORP) and Corrections Officer Retirement Plan (CORP) to alleviate pension underfunding.


Prop. 126: PASSED with 65% of the vote.


Prohibits the government from imposing a new or increased tax on services that was not already in effect on December 31, 2017.

Prop. 127: FAILED with 69% of the vote.

Requires 50% of energy to come from renewable resources by 2030

Prop. 305: FAILED with 66% of the vote.


Upholds SB 1431, which expands eligibility for education empowerment scholarship accounts to increase the number of eligible students enrolled.

Prop. 306: PASSED with 55% of the vote.


Designates unlawful contributions from clean election accounts and removes commission exemption from rulemaking requirements

Mayor: Danny Valenzuela v. Kate Gallego


*While Gallego has a strong lead over Valenzuela, the winning candidate will be decided in March. Under the Phoenix City Charter, a special election requires 50% plus one vote to declare a winner.

For additional election results, click here.

Go Back

Lobbying, Policy & Advocacy

Learn More

Government Marketing

Learn More

Economic Development

Learn More

We help more Fortune 100 companies navigate the maze of government than any other lobbying firm in Arizona - and we get results.