Triadvocates Navigator Special Edition: Arizona Primary Results

August 28,2018 | Triadvocates

Roughly 774,549 Arizona voters cast ballots in the 2018 primary election today—a 21% voter turnout (based on ballots counted as of 10:30 p.m.).


Triadvocates will publish a more in-depth analysis of the primary results, our predictions for each candidate's chances in the November general election, and the expected impact of legislative races on Arizona House and Senate leadership races in a future special edition of the Navigator.


Below are a few key highlights from today’s election (results as of 10:30 p.m.).
*Winner is identified in

Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey is expected to appoint a successor to U.S. Sen. John McCain by early next week. His appointee will face a special election in 2020, followed by another election in 2022 at the end of McCain's term. The winner of the general election race for U.S. Senate in November will fill the seat of Sen. Jeff Flake, who announced his retirement earlier this year.


U.S. Senate (R): Arpaio v. McSally v. Ward


U.S. Senate (D): Sinema v. Abboud


Congressional District 1 (R): Rogers v. Shedd v. Smith

Arizona's northeastern district includes 11 of the state's 15 counties. It runs from the Utah border down to the outskirts of Tucson, pulling in Flagstaff and parts of Pinal County.


Congressional District 2 (D): Heinz v. Kirkpatrick v. Kovacs v. Matiella v. Sherry v. Yuksel

Arizona's southeastern district includes most of Tucson and runs south to the border with Mexico and New Mexico.


Congressional District 7 (D): Gallego v. Miranda

Includes much of inner Phoenix, as well as the eastern portion of Glendale.


Congressional District 8 (R): Dowling v. Lesko

Covers the West Valley from New River south to Goodyear and from Peoria west past the Sun cities. Includes Luke Air Force Base and is entirely within Maricopa County.


Congressional District 9 (R): Ferrara v. Giles v. Baroness Von Behr

One of five primarily urban districts, runs from north-central Phoenix covering portions of Tempe, Mesa, Chandler and back into Ahwatukee Foothills in south Phoenix.

Governor (R): Bennett v. Ducey v. Weber


Governor (D): Baig v. Farley v. Fryer v. Garcia 


Secretary of State (R):  Gaynor v. Reagan


Superintendent of Public Instruction (R): Branch v. Douglas v. Gelbart v. Livingston v. Riggs – TOO CLOSE TO CALL


Superintendent of Public Instruction (D): Hoffman v. Schapira


Treasurer (R): Sabbagh v. Yee


Arizona Corporation Commission (R): Forese v. Glassman v. O'Connor v. Olson v. Sloan – TOO CLOSE TO CALL (Glassman v. O'Connor)


Arizona Corporation Commission (D): Kennedy v. Mundell v. Sears – TOO CLOSE TO CALL (Mundell v. Sears)


Legislative District 1 (R-House): Campbell v. Rooney v. Stringer

Cottonwood, Peoria, Phoenix, Prescott, Camp Verde, Carefree, Cave Creek, Chino Valley, Dewey-Humboldt


Legislative District 6 (R-House): Blackman v. McDaniel v. Thorpe

Payson, Sedona, Flagstaff, Williams, Snow Flake​


Legislative District 12 (R-Senate): Farnsworth v. Lindblom

Legislative District 12 (R-House): Grantham v. Petersen v. Sacha

Chandler, Mesa, Gilbert, Queen Creek


Legislative District 13 (R-Senate): Backus v. Jenkins v. Kerr v. Shooter

Legislative District 13 (R-House): Dunn v. Mitchell v. Osborne v. Terry

Yuma, Avondale, Glendale, Goodyear, Surprise, Litchfield Park, El Mirage, Buckeye, Wickenburg


Legislative District 14 (R-Senate): Gowan v. John

Tucson, Sierra Vista, Safford, Bisbee, Thatcher, Tombstone, Willcox, Douglas, Benson 


Legislative District 16 (R-Senate): Farnsworth v. Hernandez

Legislative District 16 (R-House): Fillmore v. Kridler v. Townsend v. Godzich v. Hickman v. Phelps

East Mesa, Apache Junction, San Tan Valley, Gold Canyon


Legislative District 17 (R-House): Ellen v. Weninger v. Willoughby

Chandler, Mesa, Gilbert

Legislative District 18 (R-House): Hawker v. Norgaard v. Patterson v.  Shifa 

Tempe, Chandler, Ahwatukee, and Mesa.


Legislative District 22 (R-House): Bullock v. Carroll v. Engen v. Heep v. Toma

Sun City West, Surprise


Legislative District 23 (R-Senate): Jeffries v. Kelly v. Ugenti-Rita

Scottsdale, Fountain Hills, Paradise Valley


Legislative District 24 (D-House): Clark v. Dominguez v. Ferrell v. Glenn v. Link v. Longdon v. Shah

Glendale, West Phoenix


Legislative District 25 (R-House): Bowers v. Udall v. Hinton



Legislative District 30 (D-House): Brotherton v. Larios v. Meza v. Terán

Glendale, Phoenix​

Go Back

Lobbying, Policy & Advocacy

Learn More

Government Marketing

Learn More

Economic Development

Learn More

We help more Fortune 100 companies navigate the maze of government than any other lobbying firm in Arizona - and we get results.